Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Me, Myself and my trips
Me, Myself and my trips
Publicité
Archives
Me, Myself and my trips
23 novembre 2009

Muslim quarter and mosque

Yesterday, I finally went to the Muslim quarter of Xi An to visit the Old mosque and have a walk through the old streets. Well, what can I say about It? First, the mosque doesn't look like one I mean that the architecture is pure Chinese no sign of round dome or Muslim sign outside to "advertise". Then how do I recognize it?  I asked in my awkward Chinese, then with all the Hui* shop around selling scarves or traditional Chinese Muslim hats it was also a sign that I was not very far. DSCN0996

The mosque itself is built like a Chinese garden with the minaret in the center and the prayer room in the back of the last courtyard. The only sign I have noticed is the Arabic inscription engraved on some walls or tablets. The mosque is 1250 yeas old and quite well preserved as it's still in activity and renovation work is made continuously.
The quarter himself is a big "shopping" area with the souvenirs shop full of cheap fake brand bags, clothes, copies of Chinese antics, vegetables, spices and street foods (there you can find the Chinese version of kebabs).  DSCN0992

The Hui is the name of the Chinese Muslims who are the descendant of Arabic merchants and Chinese women during the time of the silk trade. They are often qualified as a minority group whereas they are Han (the dominant ethnic group in China). Do not confuse them with Ouighour people who are an ethnic group from the Turco-Mongolian family.

 

 

 

 

 

New pictures in the corresponding album.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité